Vegan in Disney World!

2 Oct

I went to Disney World with my mom on vacation at the end of September. It is fun for all ages, both young and old! We had a blast exploring the parks, riding the rides and seeing the attractions. We first visited the Magic Kingdom, then Animal Kingdom, then Epcot, then Hollywood Studios. My favorite, of course, was Animal Kingdom. We were on a “quick meal plan”, which meant we could get quick service for any meal of the day at only quick service restaurants. We only had a certain amount of these on our plan. We decided to use the quick service for breakfast at our resort at Coronado Springs, and also for lunch inside the parks. We paid separate for dinner for the first 3 nights, then used the quick service meals for the remaining days we were there. We stayed for 6 days and 7 nights. I was not too worried that I would not be able to find any vegan options. For the most part it easy. However, I did have to adjust some of the menu items at times. Enjoy the pictures of the food and fun we experienced! Oh and Happy World Vegetarian Day…… today!

BabyCakes Bakery in Downtown Disney. Dairy, gluten and egg FREE. But not flavor free. Sweetened with agave and no artificial colors used! There were the best treats I have ever tasted! 

Babycakes chocolate chip cookies

Babycakes chocolate chip cookie sandwiches, red velvet cupcakes with vanilla icing, vanilla donut with chocolate icing and brownie cupcake with mint icing. 

Obviously I could’t get enough…more donuts and cupcakes!

Enjoying a nice Babycakes donut

Bongos Cuban Cafe in Downtown Disney. They had only ONE vegetarian option. I had to specify NO BUTTER, which is an animal product! I got steamed veggies, white rice and sweetened plantains. Wasn’t too bad.

Wolfgang Puck Cafe in Downtown Disney. Plenty of vegetarian options, but no vegan. I got a veggie pizza with no cheese.

I got this at Studio Catering Co. in Hollywood Studios. They offered one vegetarian option, a veg sandwich with cheese, pesto and a asiago cheese bread. I swapped the bread for multigrain and asked for no cheese or pesto. And of course choose carrots as a side instead of fries, and apples for dessert. I think I was the only person in the whole park who ordered carrots instead of fries. 

This lunch was at Epcot at the Seasons cafe at The Land indoor attraction. They had a nice veg alternative cooler section with salads and wraps. Here I got some couscous, hummus, pita and some potato salad made with vinegar as a side. 

This was at the Tangierine Cafe in Epcot, country-Morocco! I got the vegetable platter. Falafel, couscous, hummus, tabouleh, lentils and olives. And of course, hot sauce!

For breakfast most days I had oatmeal with raisins and fruit on the side. Breakfast was at our hotel, Coronado Springs Resort Hotel

My fav sit down restaurant was in the Animal Kingdom lodge at a restaurant called Jiko. They had a separate vegetarian AND vegan menu! It is an African themed restaurant. Check this out!

African dips and cracker at Jiko

Egyptian Kushari-Lentils, Couscous, chickpeas, golden raisins, roasted veggies, romesco sauce with toasted pine nuts. Amazing! At Jiko.

Animal Kingdom’s Tree of Life!

A fruit stand in Africa at Animal Kingdom

Breakfast one morning at our hotel, Coronado Springs Resort Hotel Dinner with my mom at Disney’s Boardwalk. The restaurant was created by Iron Chef Cat Cora called Kouzzina

Broccolini at Kouzzina

Grape leaves at Kouzzina. Had some work to do to get off all that oil. 

Rosemary potatoes at Kouzzina

This was at a restaurant called Columbia Habour House In Magic Kingdom. I got the Lighthouse Sandwich without the coleslaw, which was suppose to be part of the sandwich. It has hummus and tomatoes. I chose a side of steamed broccoli. 

Lunch at Coronado Resort Hotel. Veggie salad with fruit!

Dinner at Epcot in France! The restaurant was called Les Chefs France. I got the veggie lasagna with no cheese! Very good! This lasagna is a common dish in the south of France. 

Fruit stand in Magic Kingdom!

May All Beings Be Happy! I found this in Animal Kingdom!

4 Responses to “Vegan in Disney World!”

  1. violetsvegnecomics 12/10/2012 at 1:11 PM #

    Mmm, you’ve made me hungry 🙂

  2. Mae (@castawaymae) 07/11/2012 at 4:41 PM #

    I just stumbled onto your blog and Im obsessed now. Im newly vegan and I’m constantly wanting to read more about it. Your blog has been so helpful! I live in Orlando and that babycakes place has now just been added to my list of places to go to!

    • nutritranslator 07/11/2012 at 5:25 PM #

      Mae, Thank you for the comment! Let me know if you have any questions related to nutrition/veganism. Yes, you must stop at Babycakes! I am warning you though, it may be hard to stop going! If I lived near a Babycakes, I would be spending all my spare change there. haha! – Colleen

  3. Melanie B. 02/11/2016 at 8:36 AM #

    Wow, what a shame about Bongos, that is one of the least-exciting Latin-flavor meals I’ve ever seen. You really expect more from a restaurant on Disney property. Gotta give big props to Jiko though, that meal looks like it is worth the $28!

Leave a Reply

