My New Vibram Five Fingers

4 Jan

For Christmas this year I got just want I wanted, a new shiny pair of Vibrams! I have been using the Treksport Vibrams. Since the moment I bought them, I have never looked back to regular running shoes. I wrote a post in August of 2010 when I got my first pair. It took me a couple months to fully work them in. After using the Treksports for over a year now, I feel healthier and more connected to my body. My feet and calf muscles are stronger. My balance is better. I ran two half marathons in my Treksports this past year, and 5 Triathlons this past summer. I use them during my fitness classes like Yoga, Body Sculpting and Kickboxing. I wear them out and about, and if I could I would wear them every day! Since I have have worn my Treksports so much they started to smell. That would be the only downside! I washed them and washed them, but couldn’t get the bad smell to go away. That’s when you know it’s time to get a new pair. My new Vibrams are Bikilas and are bright pink and orange…..just my style! There are more color options available since I got my last pair. They are a size smaller than my last pair. I have been running in them and already and they feel great. The Bikilas are a good choice for running. 

Remember, everyone’s feet are different, so it might take you longer (or shorter) to work them in. Your feet contain 52 bones, 66 joints, 40 muscles, and hundreds of sensory receptors, tendons, and ligaments—collectively forming two of the body’s most beautifully efficient mechanisms. Yet most people assume that there is something inherently “wrong” with their feet: too wide, too narrow, arches too high or flat, etc. Traditional shoes have become a way of “fixing” these assumed abnormalities. And, as a result, the powerful architecture of our feet has become hidden, disliked, and incredibly sensitive – even weakened. Feet have taken the brunt of a cultural notion that your foot is “wrong;” that corrective shoes will make it “right.” How crazy is that? Vibrams are the real cure! Check out Vibramfivefingers.com for more information on how to get started and learn how to get to know your feet.

I swear by these shoes and will never turn back to regular running shoes. I am upgrading to Olympic Triathlons this summer, and doing the Ironman 70.3 in Boulder Colorado in Fall 2013 using these babies for the run! I feel like a kid again running in these shoes! Consider trying these yourself! You will be happier, healthier and feel more connected with your body. 

2 Responses to “My New Vibram Five Fingers”

  1. Anonymous 17/01/2012 at 11:43 AM #

    I had a pair of shower sandals that I couldn’t get the funk out of. What worked? Get them wet & throw them in the microwave for 90-120 seconds. It works for sponges, worked for my sandals. Perhaps that would work for the Vibrams.

    • nutritranslator 17/01/2012 at 7:19 PM #

      That is an interesting solution! I will try it with my old pair….just in case they catch on fire or something! Stay tuned, I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂 Thank you for the tip!

Leave a Reply

