Kickboxing-Find Your Inner Fighter!

25 Dec

 Kickboxing: what exactly is it? It refers to a group of martial arts and stand-up combat sports based on kicking and punching, historically developed from karate, Muay Thai and western boxing. Kickboxing is often practiced for self-defense, general fitness, or as a contact sport.

I recently moved to Michigan temporarily to complete my clinical nutrition rotations at Botsford Hospital for my dietetic internship. I needed to find a gym close by that was affordable. I ended up finding a great, cheap gym, Fitness 19, about 2 miles from where I am staying. The gym even included free fitness classes! I started going to the Kickboxing class and expected for it to be a cardio kickboxing class with no actual punching or kicking/hands on stuff. I was (pleasantly) surprised that we would be using boxing gloves and hand-wraps during the class! From the very first class I could definitely tell that it was something that I really enjoyed. It is a different type of workout that really pushes me. I have a lot of endurance, but with the punching and kicking in kickboxing I quickly run out of gas! This is a great total body workout. It is even a workout for your mind, because you have to constantly be thinking and anticipating the trainer’s next move/call. I feel an extreme adrenaline rush while working with the trainer. I certainly have found my inner fighter! 

I will be very sad when I have to leave Michigan in January because I have made some friends in the class. Also my trainer Cory (see more info on him below) is an outstanding and intensely motivating trainer. I have him to thank for the awesome shape I am in now!

My new friend Deborah!

A little demo from Cory (how do you like the paintings on the wall? :))

Practicing some kicks and punches

More punching and kicking! Some doing some shadowboxing and others working with the pads.)

Trying not to get my head taken off!

Going in for a hard cross

Working hard!

More about my kickboxing trainer, Cory Craft:

Cory’s Training and Experience: Cory has training in Taekwando, Judo, Jujutsu and Kickboxing. He is a Certified Personal Trainer and a Certified Kickboxing Fitness Instructor. Cory has been fighting for 9 years. 

Cory’s Life Motto: Cory had a rough and wild past, and decided he didn’t want to live that way anymore. From that choice came a positive character change. Cory treats those how he would like to be treated, with respect. He is a very hardworking  person, and loves his job as a personal trainer. This makes Cory extremely approachable and exceptionally fun to work with.

How can you contact Cory? Cory is currently looking to take on new clients for personal training in kickboxing, Judo and JuJutsu. If you are in the Canton Michigan area then give him call! 734-394-6968

I encourage you to try kickboxing, find a class or kickboxing trainer in your area! It is a great adrenaline rush and a phenomenal workout! In combination with your healthy diet, you will feel like a million bucks!

One Response to “Kickboxing-Find Your Inner Fighter!”

  1. stacie 03/12/2012 at 8:24 AM #

    For weight loss, nothing is better than some Toronto kickboxing bootcamp classes. I say this because three years ago I also followed many kickboxing classes at http://www.personaltrainertoronto.com and so I lost weight fast. These classes were very effective and less expensive. I really have an enviable body now!:D

Leave a Reply

