What is Zumba?

10 Oct

Are you intimidated to go to the gym to do a workout? Are you not really sure what to do when you get to the gym? All those machines can be confusing to use. Nobody likes to look like they have no idea what they are doing in front of a bunch of fitness buffs. Does working out on the treadmill, eliptical, or stair machine get boring after a while? Well, I know that for me all these things are true. So what’s a girl to do?

Join a Zumba class!!

I used to think that Zumba was a low intensity workout, and that it wouldn’t benefit me. I really thought it was just a bunch as useless dance moves, and a waste of a full hour of my time. As a triathlete, I want to make sure I am always getting a good workout. I decided to give it a shot after one of my coworkers was raving about her Zumba class. And I couldn’t have been more wrong about Zumba! 

What exactly is Zumba? Zumba is a Latin-inspired dance fitness program created by dancer and choreographer Alberto “Beto” Perez in Colombia during the 1990s. Zumba involves dance and aerobic elements. Zumba’s choreography incorporates hip-hop, samba, salsa, merengue, mambo, martial arts, and some Bollywood and belly dance moves. Squats and lunges are also included.

You can make the workout your own. This is what I like best about it. You can add intensity with more jumping and hopping in between, or lower the intensity. I’ve seen the ages of the classes range from teenagers to 70 years old! The music takes you away and before you know it, you are having fun; it is not a workout anymore. Usually the music that is incorporated is popular music you will hear on the radio, which makes if very exciting. The energy in the room is fantastic, because everyone is having fun! I liked learning to dance, because I have never done anything like this before. It was easy to catch on for a beginner! By the end of the full hour, my heart rate is up, and I am sweating up a storm. 

You can find a Zumba class in your area. Most gyms offer them as a part of their membership packages. But click the link below to search for an instructor in your area!

CLICK HERE TO FIND AN INSTRUCTOR IN YOUR AREA!

Leave a Reply

