It Begins Tomorrow: Colleen’s Raw Vegan Week Challenge

26 Jun

Tomorrow I will begin my Raw vegan week challenge. I have had a bit of anxiety today! I went to the grocery store and bought all of my groceries. I think I have never spent so much time in the fruits and vegetable section before! I began to worry that I might not be able to eat all of this food. Transitioning to any new diet is hard, and this will better help me understand how hard it is to change a diet and the challenges that comes along with it. I am hoping to gain a lot more energy and feel on top of the world! But we will see what happens. I may just be spending a lot of time in the bathroom….come to think of it, I should have bought extra toilet paper! haha

Can you believe this is all of the food that I am going to eat this week??

Some common questions with vegan diets and raw vegan diets:

  • Will we get enough protein if we are eating mainly fruits and veggies?
YES! As long as we get about 0.8g per kg of body weight than we are set! An example of meeting the day’s protein needs through plants are the following: 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, 3 cups snow peas, 4 cups kale, 2 Tbsp flaxseeds, 3 oranges, 2 bananas, 2 walnuts, 4 cups romaine lettuce, 1 cup carrots, 1 cup blueberries, 4 figs, 1 apple=54 grams protein!
  • Don’t we require certain fats from fish?
No! We can get them through other sources! Omega-3 fatty acids are also in ground flax seeds, chia seeds, hemp seeds, green leafy veggies, walnuts.
  • Where will vitamin B12 come from?

A supplement, fortified foods or including nutritional yeast is a must! 

2 Responses to “It Begins Tomorrow: Colleen’s Raw Vegan Week Challenge”

  1. Desiree 27/06/2011 at 4:02 PM #

    I wish you luck with the endless chopping…have you read Becoming Raw by Vesanto Melina RD and Brenda Davis RD? It is a great resource.

    • nutritranslator 28/06/2011 at 12:38 AM #

      Hi! The first day of chomping went well, and you are right it was endless! But I feel great! I purchased that book last week and have been reading it! It is definitely a great resource that every raw vegan or vegan should consider reading. Any other tips for me this week? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

