Raw Vegan Week Menu

23 Jun

Here is my menu plan for the next week!

Raw Vegan Week Menu

Each day contains approx. 2000 calories, between 10-15% of calories from protein, 25-30% of calories from fat, 50-65% of calories from carbohydrate at least 1000mg calcium and toooooooooons more vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals (antioxidants) that I otherwise wouldn’t get through cooked food. My goal is to not lose weight, but to gain more energy from this one week raw vegan challenge.

In the Menu the bold items are recipes that I will be preparing. To my surprise raw vegan food is not boring at all! in fact I will be trying new exciting recipes that I never thought of before. To the right is a raw lasagna, not on my menu this week, but doesn’t it look divine?!

I finished the shopping list, and I have to be honest, I do not know if I can eat all of this food in one week! Fruits and vegetables have less calories by weight than lets say, a hamburger! I will be getting phytochemical benefits that I wouldn’t get in a hamburger. I will be completely eliminating acrylamides, which are carcinogens and can cause cancer. The acrylamides are found in processed foods such as potato chips, baked or fried salty snacks, french fries and other fried/cooked foods.

The main reason I am doing this is because of my new found love for fruits and vegetables. I told myself I would never be a vegetarian and that I could never stop eating meat, but here I am a vegetarian for 5 months. After watching the movie Forks Over Knives I found a new inspiration and motivation to pursue a mostly vegan diet. Please watch Forks Over Knives if you haven’t already, it is life changing and very persuading. I know that if we want to live in radiant health and disease free we have to take advantage of the natural, organic, whole foods that give us MORE essential nutrients than we humans cannot even comprehend right now. I also want to take on a new challenge, and this will be a bigger challenge than I anticipated!

I have never sprouted grains or legumes so I was a little intimidated by this. I thought this may be time consuming, but this only takes a couple minutes of prep time a couple days before. I used the recipes from the Becoming Raw book that I bought. It took a while to finish the shopping list but here it is:

Fruit:

13 bananas, 15 cups blueberries, 4 cups strawberries, 4 cups strawberries, 17 oranges, 4 peaches, 6 apricots, 3 cups cantalope, 3 cups honeydew melon, 5 cups watermelon, 12 figs, 1 apple, 3 dates

Veggies:

11.5 cups kale, 18 cups romaine lettuce, 4 corn on the cobs, 4 cups broccoli, 3 cups carrots, 2 cups cherry tomatoes, 5 tomatoes, 2 cups napa cabbage, 2 cups red cabbage, 1 pepper, 1 small cucumber, 1 avocado, 3 cups asparagus, 8 cups snow peas, 1 zucchini, 1 cups green onion, 1 cup parsley

Nuts:

1 cup almonds, 2 brazil nuts, 2 tablespoons sunflower seeds, 2/3 cup walnuts, 3/4 cup pecans

Other:

flax seed oil, nutritional yeast, tahini, ground flax seed, 1/2 cup barley, 1.5 teaspoons light miso, garlic, tamari

“Do you think horses and elephants worry about not having any animal protein in their diet? Elephants are bigger and stronger than you.” Ruth Heidrich six time winner of the Ironman Triathlon

2 Responses to “Raw Vegan Week Menu”

  1. Rami 08/09/2011 at 6:32 PM #

    I have been curious about the what RAW vegans eat. I myself have been a vegan for five years now. So I found your blog, opened up your menu and decided to do the math. I calculated you nutritional intake for Friday. Here are my thoughts.

    I am impressed by how much nutrition you are able to take in on so few calories (1348). Vitamins A, C, K and folate are all over 200% of the RDI. Copper, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosophorus and potassium are all over 100%. Wow. Your omega-3 intake is very high (6.9 g), and your saturated fat intake is very low. Good!

    However, I am a bit concerned about a few things. First (don’t kill me!), protein. Your entire daily intake is 35 g. Granted, the amount would be higher if you consumed 2000 calories of the same foods. Still, your amino acids are not well-balanced and your lysine is at only 44% of the RDI for someone of my size (6 ft man, 165 lbs). Even if you doubled the amount of food you ate, you’d only get 88% of the RDI of lysine. Your leucine and methionine don’t look much better either. You certainly need more protein.

    The vitamins look pretty good. Only thiamine (98%) and niacin (88%) need a little boost, but I am sure that the nutritional yeast makes takes care of that (I did not include it in my calculations). Of course, I am assuming that you are taking a B-12 supplement and that you spend at least 15 minutes a day in the sun, so you can crank out some vitamin D.

    Some of the minerals, however, could use some help. Calcium is only at 68% of the RDI, Zinc is at 54% and selenium is at a mere 23%… And frankly, your sodium is a little on the low side for my taste – 391 mg…

    Here is what I recommend. I would feel much better if you added these to your Friday menu:

    Broccoli: 200 g
    Crimini mushrooms: 200 g
    Frozen green peas: 200 g
    Bok-Choi: 150 g
    Brazil nut: 1 (3 g)
    Pistachio nuts: 20 g
    Pumpkin seeds: 15 g

    Just think of it as just one more gigantic salad. Or two large ones 🙂 With these additions, your totals would be:

    1859 Cal
    Protein 66 g
    Carbs 322 g (fiber 75 g, sugar 199 g)
    Fat 55g (Saturated 6.3, Omega-3: 7.1 mg, Omega-6: 14.2 mg)
    Vitamin A 1748%
    Folate 322%
    Thiamine 192%
    Riboflavin 232%
    Niacin 173%
    Pantothenic 224%
    B6: 277%
    B-12: 8%
    C: 1183%
    D:0%
    E 146%
    K 715%

    Calcium: 105%
    Copper 416%
    Iron: 189% (21.8 mg)
    Magnesium 168%
    Manganese 333%
    Phosphorus 238%
    Potassium 176%
    Selenium 244%
    Sodium 787 mg
    Zinc 115%

    All amino acids are now over 100% of the RDI, even lysine (109%) and leucine (107%).

    Now, THESE are impressive results that would wow any omnivore that has any concerns about getting sufficient energy, nutrients and protein on a raw vegan diet! Let me know what you think. Best regards,

    Rami

    • nutritranslator 08/09/2011 at 8:35 PM #

      Hi Rami, Thank you for the comment! The menu I used was from the book called Becoming Raw by Brenda Davis, RD and Vesanto Melina MS, RD. There is a nutritional analysis for each day under the menu. All days are within the around 2000 calorie range and meet the DRI’s (with B12 supplement, added iodized salt for sodium and iodine and another source of vit D) according to the book. I think maybe yours may have been a little off because you did not know how some of the recipes were made (in bold). For example the melon salad contains nuts. You are right thought the protein is on the lower end of the spectrum usually only between 10-15% of calories taken in, but still within range. Thank you for taking the time to write! You will surely not need any help in calculating! great job! Will you try going raw?

Leave a Reply

