My West Side Market Excursion!

30 Apr

Since you guys wanted me to write more about shopping on a budget, here it is! Read about my trip to the West Side Market, what I bought, the prices and how I will use the food in meals for 2 people this week!

 

“The West Side Market is Cleveland’s oldest and most trusted market! Today the market is home to over 100 vendors of great ethnic diversity. You can find not only fine meats and fresh vegetables, but also fresh seafood, baked goods, dairy and cheese products, and even fresh flowers. There are also booths that sell ready-to-eat foods, herbs, candy and nuts. Tourists from all over the world tour the market every year drawn by television programs produced by the Travel Channel and Food Network featuring segments on the West Side Market. Last year it is estimated that over a million people visited the market.” Visit the website for more information: http://www.westsidemarket.org/

 

Believe it or not this was my first time going to the market! Since I was in Cleveland this Saturday morning for a 5K race, I decided to stop and get my weekly groceries! I had a great time! I could spend all day long in there! But that is just me, I like shopping for groceries more than I like shopping for clothes! The prices come very cheap due to the competitive nature of vendors with other vendors. You will not find these prices in the grocery store, nor will you find the freshness. On my trip I did make a few expensive purchases such as a half pound of Fresh Yellowfin Tuna which was over $8.00, but I still stayed within my budget. I am a vegetarian, but I do eat tuna, salmon and some other non-shell fish seafood….so I suppose you could call me a Pescetarian. I also bought some really yummy feta cheese spread (olive and also sun-dried tomato spread) which was $6.00 for a ½lb, and some Lebanese whole wheat spinach wraps which were about $3.00 each. If you buy specialty items already made by vendors then the prices can tend to be a little higher, and if the seafood is rare then that will also be a little higher. The other seafood such as tilapia was a great price. I totaled about $70.00, which is not too bad, my budget for the week is from $50-70! Most of the vendors accepted my EBT (food stamps) card, which was great to hear! Below is a picture of everything I bought! I made a menu, but I plan on having some left overs after the 5 days for the weekend.


 

Here is a price list of everything.

Click here: Prices groceries

Here is a sample menu (for 2) of what I will be having this week.

Click here: Menu- west side market

5 Responses to “My West Side Market Excursion!”

  1. Alex 30/04/2011 at 4:19 PM #

    Can’t wait to eat it all!! Good Job! Westside market has more to offer than many people think!

  2. micromovements 22/02/2012 at 7:12 PM #

    I love the market! I was actually just searching the internet to see if any nutrition education programs were offered at the market (like cooking demonstrations) when I came across your blog. Do you know if any nutrition education is offered there? If not I think it is definitely something that should happen!

    I like your blog…keep up the good work!

    • nutritranslator 23/02/2012 at 11:30 PM #

      Thank you for checking out my blog! 🙂

      I love the market too. I haven’t heard of any types of cooking demos or nutrition ed programs at the market. Looks like something I may have to start up?!??

      Any topics you would be interested in learning/reading more about?

      -Colleen

      • micromovements 06/03/2012 at 6:52 PM #

        Hi! Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you! I am actually working on getting some cooking demonstrations started up there. Let me know if you are interested in helping with or even if you have any ideas to get. It going. Keep up the good work!

  3. romi jain 22/10/2013 at 10:07 PM #

    I’ll be visiting it tomorrow:)

Leave a Reply

