Think Healthy Food is Too Expensive? Think Again!

26 Apr

Ok sure, sometimes healthy food can be expensive, but only if you are NOT a smart shopper! Look for sales of fruits at your grocery store, buy fruits and vegetables that are in season for the cheapest prices. Healthy grains such as brown rice, pasta and healthy legumes such as lentils come at very cheap prices. Frozen vegetables are cheaper than fresh, last longer and have the same nutritional value. You can also save money by only buying organic fruits and vegetables that have thin skins such as peaches for example. You do not really need to buy organic when the outer skin is thick like bananas. But no one can argue that unhealthy foods like chips, soda pop (more expensive than water), fast food (this adds up much faster in the long run), candy bars, frozen dinners and prepackaged foods are not any cheaper (if not more expensive) than fruits, veggies and making things from scratch! Not to mention these unhealthy items I listed are million times worse for you due to high sodium, high fat, high sugar content and empty of other important nutrients.

What I have for below you is 5 days worth of food for two on a budget of 50$! It can be done, because I did it! Everything I got is either low in fat, high in fiber, low in cholesterol or a combo, and includes a variety of fruits and vegetables. I am a vegetarian, so I eat no meat! I only had 50 dollars left in my budget for food, so I went to the store and bought these items. I then made a menu from them. 

Here is what I bought!


List and approx prices and items: Click below

list

Sample Menu: (I always have a stash of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar always on hand!) I drink at least 1 liter of water a day as well! Approx. 1200-1800 calories per day: Click below

Menu


Leave a Reply

