Something I never thought I would say…I love Mushrooms!

23 Feb

This month I have had a mushroom revelation! Before mushrooms to me sounded repulsive (fungus anyone??), and slimy. I had always prepared/bought them sauteed or fried. Mushrooms can be prepared in other ways than these that are even more delicious that can bring out different textures. In my previous vegan blog I wrote about, and tried a dehydrated stuffed mini portobella mushroom. I was really scared I would hate it, but I loved it! This weekend at Rockne’s I took a huge risk (for me!) and ordered a portobella mushroom sandwich. I was shocked about how much I liked it! It was meat like and satisfied my burger craving. Not only are mushrooms low in calories, sodium and fat, but high in fiber, protein, water and antioxidants.

According the the USDA database 1 cup of grilled portobella mushrooms contains about:

  • 35 calories
  • 5 grams carbohydrates
  • 4 grams of protein
  • 3 grams of fiber
  • 0.7 grams of fat
  • 0 grams cholesterol
  • 529 mg potassium
  • 26.5 mcg selenium

With numbers like these it is hard to ignore the mushroom. Even though it is very high in water content, the mushroom is definitely NOT low in nutrients. Five white button mushrooms have more potassium than an orange. Penn State researchers found that the mushroom is the only food that contains the antioxidant L-ergothioneine…and in large amounts I might add.

I like the sandwich so much at Rockne’s that I tried to replicate it. Needless to say, I will not need to go back to Rockne’s for this sandwich anymore. My version probably has less fat as well. I will not be ignoring mushrooms from now on, and I am excited to try new kinds. There are over 3,000 edible varieties!

Here is the recipe-

Portobella Mushroom Sandwich:

1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 large organic portobella mushroom- wiped clean, stems removed, gills removed (if you don’t know how to remove the gills here is a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gr_xgHLPMzM)
  • 2 slices whole wheat bread or bun
  • ยผ cup onions-sliced
  • ยผ cup green peppers-sliced
  • 1 tablespoon feta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard

Directions

  1. Heat grill/pan to medium.
  2. In another small bowl, whisk the olive oil, vinegar
  3. Brush oil/vinegar mixture over both sides of the mushrooms.
  4. Place the gill side of the mushrooms down on the grill for 3 to 5 minutes.
  5. Turn and grill another 3-5 minutes more.
  6. Remove mushroom add green peppers and onions in another pan. Spray with cooking spray.
  7. Saute for about 5 minutes.
  8. Brush mustard on bread. Place mushroom on bread with onions, peppers and feta cheese sprinkled on top.

Here it is!!!!! YUM!

One Response to “Something I never thought I would say…I love Mushrooms!”

  1. HonigCycler 23/02/2011 at 10:37 PM #

    mhhhh

Leave a Reply

